Hon'ble Mr. Justice T. Vaiphei, The Chief Justice

Born on 01.03.1956. Passed B.A. in 1976 from Nowrosjee Wadia College, University of Poona. Obtained LL.B. Degree from Campus Law Centre, University of Delhi in 1979. Enrolled in the Bar Council of Assam on 22nd August 1980. Started law practice in the Courts of the Chief Judicial Magistrate, Munsiff and Deputy Commissioner/District Magistrate in Churachandpur District of Manipur in the year 1980. Started appearance in the Court of District & Sessions Judge, Manipur in Criminal and Civil cases both in the Original and Civil sides in the year 1983 and also before the Revenue Tribunal and Motor Accident Claim Tribunal, Manipur. Specialized in Constitutional Law, Public Law and Service Matter. Started practicing in the Imphal Bench of the Gauhati High Court in 1990. Acted as Conciliator in the State as well as District level Lok Adalats in Manipur in 1989, 1992 and 1994. Shifted place of practice to Mizoram in 1997. Empanelled as Defence Pleader in Mizoram on 16th October, 1998. Appointed as Asstt. Advocate General of Mizoram on 12th February, 1999 and as Public prosecutor for High Court on 8th March, 1999. Further, appointed as Public Prosecutor for Aizawl District and Essential Commodities Act on 8th April 1999 & 14th June 1999 respectively and also acted as Prosecuting Counsel for Court Martial Proceedings, Assam Rifles, Aizwal in the year 1999. Appointed as Addl. Advocate General, Mizoram on 15th September, 2000. Designated as Senior Advocate on 22nd February, 2001. Appointed as Legal Advisor of the Mizoram Co-operative Apex Bank on 9th February, 2001. Elevated to the Bench as Additional Judge, Gauhati High Court on 17.07.2003 and was made Permanent Judge on 28.02.2005, thereafter appointed as Chief Justice (Acting) on 21.10.2015.

  His Lordship on transfer took oath as the Judge of High Court of Tripura on 16.05.2016 and thereafter appointed as the Chief Justice (Acting) of the High Court of Tripura w.e.f. 16.05.2016.

His lordship took oath as the Chief Justice of the High Court of Tripura on 21 st September, 2016 and retired on 28th  February, 2018 on superannuation.